MMM ’17: Days 26-31

Well, I think it’s pretty clear I fell off the selfie train!  I did stick to my pledge, but became pretty bad at documenting it.  The previous week was super busy with preparations for a family party and my sister’s graduation, and on top of that I lost my blank white wall when my (other) sister moved back into her room for a bit.  Then the summer semester started and woweewow is it a doozy.  Five-week courses are understandably fast-paced, but I really failed to understand that I’d be grading labs and tests pretty much daily the entire time.  I’m two weeks in and already feeling the pain.  I imagine my stress also has to do with the fact that Ramadan has begun and I average about 4 hours of sleep a night now.  I’m gonna need a mental health day soon.

b248c148f7566f4bd5603500a2df2759

Anyway, enough whining from me!  Let’s talk about what I learned from my first wholehearted attempt at Me Made May.

  • I wore my Ginger jeans ALL THE TIME.  Jeans haven’t fit me this well since, um, maybe middle school?  Before I got hips?  Yeah I basically stopped wearing them after high school because the gaping waist and low rise were too uncomfortable.  I just love the custom fit of these handmade and high-waisted ones, though!
  • I prefer to balance volume on the top and bottom.  I feel uncomfortable when everything is fitted (like my Nettie dress I wore earlier in the month), and kind of sloppy and amorphous when I’m wearing something totally oversized.
  • I love colors and prints!  They seriously brighten my mood.  I remember a day in grad school when this girl in my lab was telling me a story about a drab friend of hers who wore gray every day and it made her (the story-teller) so sad (she was a bit superficial, now that I recall).  A little later I was in the bathroom and noticed that I had unintentionally dressed myself in THREE different shades of solid gray.  Not fifty, but still way too many! (Also makes me think that the story was directed at me personally???!!)
  • Posing for photos and taking selfies is really hard.  Duh.
  • I’m a recluse.  I rarely leave the house if I don’t have to.  I need more pretty at-home clothes so I don’t feel like a slob.
  • The tops I enjoyed wearing most often were fitted knits and looser button-downs.  The buttons downs are kind of a revelation.  I’m sorting through my stash for more of these types of shirt patterns to make up now that I know what I like.
  • I hate polyester.  Most of my work blouses are polyester and they’re terrible and static-clingy.  I want more natural fibers in my wardrobe.
IMG_0484
All of my revelations in one outfit: Gingers, button down, natural fibers, balanced volume, comfortably casual, awkward pose.  There’s also little colorful specks in the weave of the chambray that you can’t see from afar.  Bonus natural face bc I had just driven 5 hours to NYC at the crack of dawn.

Since I have minimal sewing time for the next three weeks (until the class is over), I’ll spend some of my free time working through The Curated Closet and planning for projects to make during my break. Correspondence here might be patchy for a while, but I’ve still got a backlog of handmades waiting to be blogged.

How’d you all do with your pledges?  Or did you enjoy watching others make selfie-fools out of themselves?

Leave a comment