MMM ’17: Days 12-18

We’re more than halfway there!  TL;DR: I lived in my Ginger jeans this week.

Day twelve:

Here are my Ginger jeans again, paired with a Papercut Coppelia cardigan.  I think I wore this top to death right after I made it, and then barely touched it all last winter.  I do like it, though, and think I’ll make this pattern again soon.  I raised the neckline a tad so that I could wear it comfortably without a layer underneath, but it still gapes open (as faux-wraps tend to do).  Here, it’s safety pinned in place, but I think I’ll go back and just stitch the overlap down.  I also might shorten my next version just a little so it’s easier to wear with all of my high waisted pants and skirts.

Day thirteen:

I went out to dinner in the city with some friends I hadn’t seen in a long time.  It was cold and rainy, though, so I opted for comfort.  This is a McCall’s blouse pattern (M7436) that I made last year in a poly crepe from Mood.  It’s a seriously fun print, and I don’t even care that some of the design details get lost in it.  I think the reason I don’t wear it a lot is because I don’t have many bottoms to pair it with.  My trusty Gingers will have to do for now!

Day fourteen:

IMG_0234

Happy Mother’s Day!  No outfit pictures because I was just being lazy around the house in my Ginger jeans (seriously, I need to get started on another pair!).  In MMMay-related news, I finally got my hands on The Curated Closet. I’d heard a lot of good things, but I really appreciated Kamila’s thoughtful review.  I’m excited to see if it helps me narrow down my style.  I struggle a lot with minimalism and hate the idea of having a wardrobe of neutral “essentials.”  At the same time, I know I need pieces that coordinate and fit my lifestyle.  CONUNDRUM.

Day fifteen:

IMG_0284

You know how you sometimes get dressed to work out so that it hopefully forces you to do it?  Yeah, that’s how I often dress when I get home.  Sometimes it works!  Today I wore my favorite Jalie leggings (pattern is called Cora).  I love that they are very high waisted and that they have a crotch gusset.  All of my RTW workout leggings have a gusset, but only Jalie patterns include it in their design (at least out of all the patterns I’ve seen).  I really should make more of these, since I have a ton of athletic lycra just hanging around.

Days sixteen and seventeen:

No photos at all!  This is what happens when you are on a break from work without actually being on vacation.  I did wear my Ginger jeans for most of these days (no surprise there), so I technically stuck to my goal.  I’ll try to get out of my funk and do a better job of wearing different garments from here on out.

Day eighteen:

IMG_0344

Well, I got dressed!  It’s my gingham Archer again, plus a RTW skirt.  I bought this skirt on a whim about 3 years ago, and it’s been a summer staple ever since.  I’ve realized that I don’t care for the straight cut of the skirt as much as I do the print and colors.  And that pretty much sums up what I’ve learned so far this month: I like bold prints, bright colors, tops with a bit of shape to them, and bottoms that are either fitted or flare at the hip.

I’ve been slowly working on some sewing projects, but for some reason I’m feeling uninspired again.  The good news is that I’ve also been uninterested in buying new fabric, so I’m not compensating with retail therapy.  Anyone have tips for sewing when it feels like it’s 90 degrees in your room?

Leave a Reply

