S/S 2017: Road Trip

The weather here has been SO NICE recently, which has me itching to go outside and get some color on my skin.  Yes, I know this is bad for me, but trust me, I lather on the sunscreen and wear hats.  I really just want my gleaming white legs to match the year-round brown of my arms and face.  Is that too much to ask?

Basking in the sun while pretending to read fine literature gives me a bit of time to think about what I want to wear during the warmer months.  I often go back and forth between wanting to sew practical, work-appropriate clothing and fanciful, dress-for-the-life-you-want clothing.  A few months ago I decided I’m perfectly okay with buying work slacks and cardigans.  It’s the fanciful stuff that gets my blood pumping.

So what sort of fantasy lifestyle am I dressing for this season?  Good question!  I’m thinking: mysterious young woman who might be a con artist, demon hunter, or travel blogger.  Probably all three.  Basically, I’ve got about two weeks off between the spring and summer semesters in May, and I think it would be the perfect time to take a road trip somewhere cool.  Maybe to explore some sights nearby or to visit a few friends I haven’t seen in a while.

Clockwise from top left: Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel / Kogod Courtyard / US Botanic Garden / Broken busts of 43 presidents in a field near Williamsburg (seriously, it’s a weird story but I really want to see them).  All of these are actually doable as day trips from where I live.  Sadly I think the Grand Canyon is out of my budget for now.

Road trips have always had a special place in my heart.  I went on a lot of them when I was growing up because I had a ton of family living about 7ish hours away in Connecticut.  Usually it was just my mother, my sisters and me in a small car, but sometimes we would also stuff in my dad, grandmother or a cousin or two.  I loved all of it: falling asleep in a pillow fort in the back seat, eating TCBY and kabobs at rest stops, fighting with my older sister because I was invading her space, resenting my younger sister for her spacious car seat.  All OF IT.  I believe this is called nostalgia.

So what does a con artist/demon hunter/travel blogger even wear while road tripping?  Obviously lots of funky denim, eye-catching prints, and comfortable two-piece ensembles.  I mean, she has to be able to drive for several hours, steal someone’s identity, stake a vampire, and be ready in time for a photo shoot at magic hour in front of the world’s largest yogurt cup.  She also has to have items that can coordinate easily and travel well.  Gotta pack light for those quick getaways.

Clockwise from top left: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5
Clockwise from top left: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5
Clockwise from top left: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5

I’m going to be realistic with my goals, since I really don’t think I’ll be able to make an entire mini wardrobe in three weeks.  There’s just not enough evidence to support that argument.  Instead, I’ll focus on making a few pieces really well.  Pieces that fit, are made with quality materials, and coordinate with some other items in my wardrobe.

Anyone else deep in the throes of spring/summer planning or sewing?  Anyone else feel that even their best laid plans are often completely destroyed by shiny new pattern and/or fabric releases?

4 thoughts on “S/S 2017: Road Trip

  1. Ooh, interesting fantasy career path! I have 8 items on my summer to sew list, and 8 weeks off in June & July to make them… I don’t usually give myself firm deadlines and hard and fast lists, but I am pretty excited about all of them! AND I will use up some of the fabric stash!! Happy road tripping!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh! 8 weeks off with time to sew sounds terrific! I’ve learned the hard way that I’m bad at sticking to a firm plan, so I’m hoping that a general theme is easier to follow. Haha I’ve already changed my mind on the pattern I’ll be using for fabric I just pre-washed. And new fabrics can lead me astray, so I should probably follow your lead and use up some of my stash! Good luck with your list!

      Like

  2. Hahahaha! That whole car situation you described was ours, too, but I was the older sister, and my sister was invading MY space while my brother had his own seat. Also, yes to getting totally distracted by all the patterns and fabric. I blame the change of season and have been relying on my 2017MakeNine to keep me grounded. Unfortunately, I’m down to my last project, so I’ll need a new plan soon. Maybe you need clothing that can morph into other things. I once saw a MacGyver episode where one of the characters’ outfit could change from a party outfit to a waitress outfit. You will probably need this in your constantly changing life. 😉

    Like

    • haha yes! It was life changing when my parents finally upgraded to a minivan. SO MUCH ROOM. But then of course it turned into a fight for who got to sleep in the backseat on long trips. That’s amazing that you’re almost done with your 2017 Make Nine! My plans used to be: make this pants pattern using this fabric, and now they’ve become: make pants. Versatility might be key. I’ll have to look into metamorphic outfits – they’re probably easier to pack up when I’m on the run!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

