A Month of Stash-Busting

daf89d0f469e9d9068d720fc9361f3e51107452560f9e3ad4a120858fd99f225

It’s that time of year again!  I’ve decided to jump on the bandwagon and participate in Me Made May. It’s my first time! I thought about it very carefully chose the following goal for myself a few weeks ago:

‘I, Henna, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear two handmade items (that are not pajamas) each day for the duration of May 2016’

The pajama stipulation is key. I love all of my me-made garments, but it’s a painful truth that I wear a lot of them to bed. That, or to fancy parties. I have a lot of gaps in my wardrobe, so I’m going to try to sew more garments that are appropriate for day time and even for work! Don’t worry, I won’t bombard you with selfies. I might just do a couple round-up posts.

Since I made this goal, though, I’ve been thinking a lot about how much stuff I have, especially sewing stuff. I mentioned this earlier in a post about the spring “cleaning” of my stash. That really put my consumption in perspective, and it’s just been bothering me ever since. I’ll spare you the soul searching I went through, but I will tell you that I’ve come to a few conclusions:

  1. I am adding to my stash at a much faster rate than I am sewing it.
  2. This makes me feel bad.
  3. I still love all of the fabric and patterns that I own.  De-stashing is not my jam.
  4. I’d love my fabric and patterns even more if I could wear them on my body.

Basically, my stash is overwhelming my tiny sewing space as well as my mind. It needs a diet. So, in an effort to use what I have already consumed (and to have a little fun with it), I’m setting another personal challenge for myself: 31 Yards in 31 Days. Yep, it’s exactly what it sounds like! I’m going to try to sew up 31 yards of my stash fabric over the 31 days of May.

31 Yards 1

Some ground rules: the 31 yards will include fashion fabric and linings, but won’t include fabric used for muslins (unless it turns out to be a wearable muslin). I’ll also only be using patterns I already own, but there’s no specific goal for those. It probably goes without saying that I am going to avoid adding to the stash during this month. I may need an odd zipper or button, but I will be limiting any notions purchases to only what I absolutely need in order to finish the garment.

I’m pretty excited to see if I can actually make this happen! It felt like no big deal when I thought of it, but now I’m like woah that’s a lot of fabric!

I actually got the idea for this from my sister. She doesn’t sew, but she’s quite the make-up junkie (and a nail polish fiend). She’s been doing something called Project Pan for a while, which focuses on using up the make-up you own (all the way down to the metal pan), instead of just constantly buying new stuff. I’ve seen her participate in challenges like this, where there is a goal for using a certain amount of products by a certain deadline.  I just subbed the eyeshadows and lipsticks for chambray and linen.

 

Ahhh I’d better get prepped, I’ve got a long month of sewing (and wearing me-mades) ahead of me! If you’d like to follow along, I’ll be posting my progress on Instagram.

4 thoughts on “A Month of Stash-Busting

Leave a Reply

