Black and Blue

Well, it seems that I am quite taken with this ’70s fashion revival.  I think it’s partially because it reminds me a little of my childhood in the ’90s, when flared jeans, platform shoes and crochet tops were also very in.  I’ve heard it all my life, but I guess I’m finally old enough now to notice how cyclical fashion actually is.  Great, now I’m never throwing anything out!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

It’s no surprise then, that I was immediately drawn to the Rosarí skirt pattern by Pauline Alice.  I’ve seen a few other versions of the A-line button down skirt, but I just loved all of the different pocket variations on this one.  Super versatile!

The version I made here is a mini skirt using pocket D (zippers!) in a lovely blue wool crepe.  I picked this up on a trip to Philadelphia about 2 years ago.  I showed up at Fabric Row on a Sunday and only one shop was open (Fleishman’s maybe?).  I also had no idea what wool crepe was.  I just touched it and fell in love.  I bought two yards and immediately used one to make a Charlotte skirt.  I still wear that skirt, but it was one of the very first garments I made for myself and as such is very poorly stitched.  I’m glad I saved the rest for future, more experienced me.

You may have heard this before, but working with wool crepe is a dream.  It sews and presses beautifully, and is squishy and soft and does whatever you tell it to!  OHHHH wool, how I love you so!  I want to buy it in every color and make an entire winter work wardrobe out of it.

Okay, enough gushing.  Now for the serious stuff: fit.  This is actually my second iteration of this pattern.  I made the knee-length version in a medium weight denim first.  I cut the 48 based on my measurements at the time, and ended up taking it in a little before attaching the waistband.  It was still a little big, so before cutting my second, I altered the back pattern piece by taking 1/4″ off the CB and trimming to a smaller size at the side seam (basically cut the 46 instead of the 48).  On top of this, I ended up taking in all of the seams by 1/4″ while sewing.  I think it fits pretty well now.  The waistband isn’t too stiff, so I like how snug it is at the waist.

The only other adjustment I made was adding 2″ to the mini length (just in case – mini skirts kind of scare me).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The zippers are actually jean zippers.  The pattern calls for 6″ zips, but I was unable to find any locally.  I bought some 5″ zips, and made a mental note to make the zipper opening smaller before I cut.  Yeah I forgot.  7″ jean zippers to the rescue!

Because I was on a roll, I immediately completed the outfit by whipping up a basic black Nettie bodysuit in a lovely soft modal/lycra knit.  It’s so comfy (and opaque), and I love that I don’t have to worry about tucking anything in.  Not much else to say about this: I raised the depth of the scoop neck by about 1″ (wow, I’m more conservative than I thought) and added cuff bands in order to avoid using the twin needle.  A little more cutting, a lot less re-threading.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This outfit was also part of my travel wardrobe for my trip to Sacramento at the beginning of February.  I wrote about a few other pieces here.  I’m still putting together a post about the dress I made for the wedding I attended.  Watch this space!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5 thoughts on “Black and Blue

  1. Nice skirt. I love it and good job with the pockets. I have yet to dare to try zipper pockets. I may have to check this pattern out too since I had a skirt similar to this in the 90s and loved it. Totally agree about never throwing anything out again! Trouble is I am now running out of storage space since I seem to have been collecting for about 5 years now!

    Like

    • Thank you! It was my first time with zipper pockets, and they were surprisingly easy. The hardest part was maneuvering it around the presser foot! Hah! I feel like it’s especially hard for makers/crafters to throw things out – you can think of so many potential uses!

      Like

Leave a Reply

