Cherry Cascade Skirt

I’m back!  Who knew this would work out to be a post-every-two-weeks thing?  Not me.  For some reason, I thought sewing clothes, taking decent pictures of myself wearing said clothing, and preparing coherent text to accompany the photos would be SOOOO EASY.  I’ll have to post twice a week just to keep up with my makes!  HAH.  Well, I guess the job gets in the way sometimes.  And now that Ramadan has begun, I have realized that I have very little patience for complicated projects and fiddly fabrics when my blood sugar is low.

Pic7Here is the second completed project on my summer list: a Megan Nielsen Cascade skirt done up in a fun cherry print rayon challis.  You may recognize this from the Gertie line of fabric at JoAnn’s.  Although I like the vintage look on other people, I’ve never really loved these kinds of prints for myself.  Nevertheless, I found myself perusing the selection in the store one day and decided I needed 3 yards of this fabric.  It’s very hard for me to turn away from a cool rayon print.  The turquoise background and red cherries really pop!

DSC_0229 DSC_0228

Initially I wanted to use this fabric for an awesome wide-legged jumpsuit.  Sadly, I did not have nearly enough fabric.  My 3 yards shrank into 2.5 after washing and trimming some off-grain edges, but I wouldn’t have had enough even if I hadn’t lost that little bit.  Ah well, my jumpsuit dreams will have to wait.

I then turned to my pattern stash (mostly digital) for ideas.  The Cascade skirt jumped out right away: drapey, flowy, and total summer vibes.  There are only 3 pattern pieces, but man oh man are they big.  I managed to fit the main skirt pieces neatly on my yardage, but I had to piece together the tie-front waistband (version 3).  Luckily the print is pretty busy and the ties are soooooo long that my six or seven seams are not noticeable.

Pic5

The insides are French seamed – guys, there are only two seams.  Piece. Of. Cake.  The hem is another story.  It feels like it goes on for miles.  The instructions carefully guide you through a narrow hem.  It’s actually pretty easy, but it means you basically stitch the length of your hem three times.  It took me the better part of 3 hours, including breaks to complain to myself about how long it was taking.  I’m glad I’ve learned how to do it, and I feel like it is a skill that will come in handy later on.  I still love that nifty rolled hem feature on my serger, though.  If I had matching thread I probably would have used that instead.

Pic4

It’s a wrap skirt, so I didn’t worry too much about fit.  I sewed up the size L and the cross over section hits in the right spot.  I decided to interface the center part of the waistband, but it feels very stiff now.  Maybe it will soften a bit after a few washes, but I think my mistake was interfacing the entire width of the waistband (it’s the fold-over type).  Next time I may skip it or just interface the outer half.

I love this skirt and hope to get a lot of wear out of it this summer.  The only complaint I have is that it has a tendency to fly up in a gust of wind . . . or while running down the stairs too quickly.  And it is a wrap skirt, so this could be a problem.  Maybe I need to make a body suit to wear with it?  Or am I worrying too much?

CascadeSkirt2

4 thoughts on “Cherry Cascade Skirt

  1. Lovely skirt! I have this pattern as well, I haven’t sewn it up yet as I keep thinking it needs a lining (as the back hem shows), but the trick might be to choose a light coloured fabric like you did!

    Like

    • Thanks! I think I lucked out that this fabric was opaque enough not to line, and that the reverse doesn’t look terrible. I’ve been thinking about a cooler-weather version with a lining, but that would mean hemming twice!

      Like

Leave a Reply

