This is it

Hello, friends! I have finally decided to give this blog thing a go! Feel free to join in my adventures in sewing my own handmade wardrobe!

Guys, I’m a terrible planner sometimes.  I go back and forth. There are weeks when I simply enjoy all the ideas racing around in my head, and then there are weeks when I write down every. single. thought.  Damn it feels good to cross things off a list.

Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 3.54.19 PM
What would I do without my Reminders app?

Lately my sewing, much like the rest of my life, has felt a bit scattered. My method is usually to slowly cut out and prep several projects before and after work, and then spend long weekends or school holidays at the machine. I like the efficiency of this method, but it leaves little room for spontaneity, and sewing feels more like work than fun. I feel like I simply CANNOT start anything new unless I finish what I have already started.

I feel like this girl, minus the key.  I don't get it - did she chain herself to the machine, or is she trying to decide if freedom is really what she wants?
I feel like this girl, minus the key. I don’t get it – did she chain herself to the machine, or is she trying to decide if freedom is really what she wants?

Boredom is bad for my sewing and for my wallet. Why, you ask? Well, for one, I get really sloppy when I’m not feeling it (don’t we all?).  You don’t even want to see the piping on the pajama pocket I slapped together last night.  Also, when I am totally over it with a project, I usually daydream about newer, cooler things I want to make and then start browsing shops online. Add a stressful workday to the mix and then cue the retail therapy session.

So my idea isn’t ground breaking, but what I want to do is plan a few projects each season. Instead of tracing and cutting everything at once, though, I will simply set aside a bit of time each day to work on one project: research, prep, or construction.  I’ll allow myself to jump around and work on whatever feels fun at the moment.

Okay now the pretty stuff: my summer sewing plans! These are my fabric and pattern pairings, based on what is already in my stash. Suggestions and advice are welcome, just comment below! What’s on your to-sew schedule this summer?

For ME:

Rayon/silk chiffon for an Eliana Dress by Pauline Alice.
Rayon/silk chiffon from Fabric Mart for an Eliana Dress by Pauline Alice.
Neon green cotton/lycra twill with black/white frames (also from Fabric Mart) for Simplicity 1314 Cynthia Rowley Pattern
Neon green cotton/lycra twill with black/white frames (also from Fabric Mart) for Simplicity 1314 Cynthia Rowley Pattern
Red floral/butterfly satin (feels like nice polyester, my sister found a 2 yd piece in the sale rack at G Street Fabrics – score!) for a Sewaholic Yaletown Dress. Creative cutting required.
Red floral/butterfly satin (feels like nice polyester, my sister found a 2 yd piece in the sale rack at G Street Fabrics – score!) for a Sewaholic Yaletown Dress.
Creative cutting required.
Cherry print rayon challis (this is Gertie fabric) for a Cascade Skirt by Megan Nielson.  Looking forward to hemming this thing - oi!
Cherry print rayon challis (this is Gertie fabric) for a Cascade Skirt by Megan Nielson. Looking forward to hemming this thing – oi!
Stretch denim from Fabric Mart for Ginger Jeans by Closet Case Files.  View B high waisted.  There will be many muslins!
Stretch denim from Fabric Mart for Ginger Jeans by Closet Case Files. View B high waisted. There will be many muslins!

For my sister:

Pineapple and watermelon swimsuit fabric (also from Fabric Mart) for a swim tunic.  I'm assuming this is the modest glam look my sister is going for.
Pineapple and watermelon swimsuit fabric (also from Fabric Mart) for a swim tunic. I’m assuming this is the modest glam look my sister is going for.
Leave a Reply

